If you or someone you love has been charged with a crime of violence, it is imperative that you work with an attorney who is intimately familiar with the law in Illinois. Stephanie has built her practice throughout Illinois and Wisconsin by defending clients charged with crimes of violence, including weapon charges. Listed below are various violent and weapon crimes and their potential penalties in Illinois:
- Depending on the situation, aggravated assault can be classified as a Class A Misdemeanor or a Class 4 felony. A misdemeanor charge can land you one year in jail and a $2,500 fine. A felony charge can have a penalty of 1-3 years in prison and up to a $25,000 fine.
- Class A Misdemeanor, up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine.
- Domestic violence can be classified as either a Class A Misdemeanor or a Class 2 felony. A Class A Misdemeanor can present a possible sentence of one year in jail and a fine of $2,500. A Class 2 felony can carry a possible sentence up to 7 years and a fine of up to $25,000.
- Although Illinois no longer uses the death penalty, depending on the specific facts, a person convicted of murder can be sentenced to life in prison.
- Armed Robbery is considered a Class X Felony and, if with a firearm, could potentially carry a sentence enhancement of 15 years .
Sale Of Illegal Firearms
- Depending on the exact circumstances, the sale of illegal firearms can be between a Class 2 Felony and a Class 4 Felony.
Possession Of A Firearm
- The penalties for possessing a firearm vary depending on whether you are qualified to receive a FOID card, where the firearm is located and your criminal background.
Assault With A Deadly Weapon
- Depending on the circumstances, assault with a deadly weapon can be classified between a Class A Misdemeanor and a Class 3 Felony. The punishment can vary and have long prison terms and hefty fines.
Individual penalties for the above crimes are affected by a variety of factors. Those can include a defendant’s criminal history, the severity of the crime, if a weapon was used, and if the victim suffered great bodily harm. If you have been charged with a crime of violence, you need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney and Stephanie Kemen welcomes your call.
How do I apply for an IL FOID card?